Liam Gallagher plays triumphant homecoming gig for Radio X with Sam Fender at O₂ Ritz Manchester

Liam Gallagher played a triumphant homecoming show in Manchester on Saturday (21 September).

The former Oasis frontman celebrated his 47th birthday, joined by family, former bandmate Bonehead and a very special guest Sam Fender, who had just scored a number one debut album.

The rocker wore a navy blue parka as he took to the stage at the iconic Manchester venue, which was the location of his very first solo show back in May 2017.

Gallagher had just released his second solo album, Why Me? Why Not, and his setlist included instant favourites from the new album in OnceThe River, One Of Us and Shockwave.

He also performed a number of Oasis classics at the show, including Stand By Me and Definitely Maybe vinyl track Sad Song.

The Rock ‘N’ Roll Star was joined by his former bandmate Bonehead – which received a huge response from the Manchester crowd.

Ending his set on a trio of Oasis songs, Gallagher delighted the crowd with an emotional rendition of Live Forever – with the crowd in full voice behind him.

Liam Gallagher live for Radio X at the O₂ Ritz Manchester 21 September 2019 setlist:

1.Rock ‘n’ Roll Star
2. Morning Glory
3.Wall of Glass
4. Shockwave
5. Paper Crown
6. Greedy Soul
7. Columbia
8. Stand By Me
9. One Of Us
10. Once
11. The River
12. Cigarettes & Alcohol
13. Be Here Now


14. Sad Song
15. Supersonic
16. Live Forever

You can hear highlights from Radio X Presents Liam Gallagher with very special guest Sam Fender on Radio X from 7pm on Sunday 29 September.

Source: RADIO X